Kurt Warner to play in Zach Johnson Foundation Classic

By  | 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa (KCRG-TV9) Cedar Rapidian and one of the top NFL players in the country, Kurt Warner, will join the list of celebrities playing in Monday’s Zach Johnson Foundation Classic.

Kurt Warner spoke with TV9's Scott Saville leading up to his induction into the Professional Football Hall of Fame. It happened in Canton, Ohio on Saturday, August 5, 2017. (Randy Dircks, KCRG-TV9)

Officials made the announcement in a news release, Saturday.

Warner is a former quarterback for the St. Louis Rams. He also played for the New York Giants and Arizona Cardinals.

Before going pro, Warner played college ball at the University of Northern Iowa. From there, he started out signed as an undrafted free agent for the Green Bay Packers in '94. The athlete ended up signing with the Iowa Barnstormers in '95, after being released from the Packers.

Warner's breakout year came in '99 with the Rams. He went on to be considered one of the best undrafted NFL players of all time. The quarterback was awarded Super Bowl MVP two times and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2017.

“It’s always great when we are able to support each other at our charities’ events," said Johnson. "We’re thrilled to have him back this year and know people in Cedar Rapids will be just as excited.”

Organizers say last year’s event raised more than $1 million for the Kids on Course program. The nonprofit finished its seventh year at Grant, Harrison and Van Buren Elementary Schools and Roosevelt and Wilson Middle Schools.

"This fall, the inaugural class of students will be freshmen in high school," said the statement. "Kids on Course provides tutoring, enrichment, parent engagement strategies and health supports to put students on a path to post-secondary education. Each child reaches his or her academic and individual potential through creative and inventive opportunities that connect students and families to the community, schools and higher learning."


The Zach Johnson Foundation Classic will take place Monday, July 9, 2018, at Elmcrest Country Club with the Gala the night before at the Cedar Rapids DoubleTree by Hilton.

The Gala includes dinner and an auction and is exclusively for Classic sponsors, players and their guests.

There will be no charge for admission at this year’s event; however a ticket is required for entrance. General admission tickets are now available for pick up at all Cedar Rapids and Marion Hy-Vee grocery and drug stores. General admission tickets will also be available at the gates. Information about parking, shuttles and the schedule of events can be found online at http://zachjohnsongolf.com/ZJFClassic.aspx.

The full list of pro golfers and celebrities participating in this year’s ZJF Classic include:

Professional Golfers
1. Zach Johnson, PGA TOUR
2. Ryan Blaum, PGA TOUR
3. Sara Brown, Professional Golfer
4. Wesley Bryan, PGA TOUR
5. Jonathan Byrd, PGA TOUR
6. John Daly, Champions Tour
7. Jason Dufner, PGA TOUR
8. Tony Finau, PGA TOUR
9. Jay Haas, Champions Tour
10. Bill Haas, PGA TOUR
11. Chesson Hadley, PGA TOUR
12. JJ Henry, PGA TOUR
13. Matt Jones, PGA TOUR
14. Keith Mitchell, PGA TOUR
15. Ryan Moore, PGA TOUR
16. Trey Mullinax, PGA TOUR
17. Patrick Rodgers, PGA TOUR
18. Kyle Stanley, PGA TOUR
19. Steve Stricker, PGA TOUR/Champions Tour

1. Micah Byars, Director of Basketball Operations – Iowa State
2. Scott Chandler, Former Iowa and NFL Player
3. Dallas Clark, Former Iowa and NFL Player
4. Sherman Dillard, Assistant Men’s Basketball Coach – U of Iowa
5. Ben Higgins, Star of The Bachelor
6. Danan Hughes, Former Iowa and NFL Player
7. Brandon McManus, NFL Player – Denver Broncos
8. Brian Schottenheimer, NFL Coach – Seattle Seahawks
9. Riley Smith, Actor/Musician
10. Kurt Warner, Former UNI and NFL Player

For more details about the 2018 Zach Johnson Foundation Classic, visit http://zachjohnsongolf.com/ZJFClassic.aspx. You can also visit our Facebook page to keep up with the latest information. Zach Johnson is a Cedar Rapids native and 12-time PGA TOUR winner, including the 2007 Masters Champion and 2015 Champion Golfer of the Year.