History made with first Girls' State Wrestling Tournament

WAVERLY, Iowa (KCRG) - It was a historic day for the sport of wrestling in Iowa with the first ever Girls' State Wrestling Tournament. A total of 87 wrestlers competed for a state title.

Waverly-Shell Rock had two individual champions: Annika Behrends (132) and Avery Meier (138). The Go-Hawks also won the team title.

Other eastern Iowa champions included: Chloe Clemons of Jefferson (120) and Iowa Valley's Millie Peach (195).

"I've got three sisters and I'm hoping this leads to them having sanctioned wrestling when they get up there," said Peach.