Gary Dolphin receives award from Iowa football team

By  | 

IOWA CITY, Iowa (KCRG) - The Iowa football team gave out awards during its annual banquet on Sunday.

No surprise that T.J. Hockenson and Amani Hooker were named Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Players. Hockenson recently won the John Mackey Award and Hooker was named the Tatum-Woodson Big Ten Defensive Back of the Year.

Iowa also gave broadcaster Gary Dolphin the 2018 Distinguished Service Award.

"No one bleeds black and gold more than Gary Dolphin and this is our opportunity to say thank you," said head coach Kirk Ferentz.

This comes shortly after Dolphin's suspension for on-air comments made during the Iowa - Pittsburgh men's basketball game.