Eight Hawkeyes named to Big Ten's all-conference teams

By  | 

IOWA CITY, Iowa. (KCRG) - Eight different Hawkeyes were honored by the Big Ten conference as they released their all-conference honors.

Junior Amani Hooker and sophomore Ihmir Smith-Marsette headline the list, both winning special awards.

Hooker, who leads the team with seven pass break-ups and is tied for the team lead with four interceptions, was named the Tatum-Woodson Big Ten Defensive Back of the Year.

Smith-Marsette, who ranks second in the nation in kickoff returns with an average of 29.3 yards per return, was named the Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialst of the Year.

Along with Hooker, sophomore defensive end A.J. Epenesa earned first-team All Big Ten honors by being named first team by the media and second team by the coaches. Junior Matt Nelson was also named second-team all Big Ten by the media and third-team by the coaches.

Senior Matt Nelson, senior Jake Gervase, Senior Miguel Recinos all earned honorable mention recognition from the coaches and media. Senior Parker Hesse and sophomore Geno Stone earned honorable mention from the media.