12 area wrestlers crowned state champions

DES MOINES, Iowa (KCRG) - Saturday's high school state wrestling finals had several storylines.

Lisbon had three state champions, including Cael Happel (132). He won his third consecutive state title and hopes to become just the 28th four-time state champion next season.

Cascade's Aidan Noonan won the Class 1A state title at 113 pounds becoming the school's first ever state champion.

In Class 3A, Joe Pins of Dubuque Hempstead (132), Linn-Mar's Jacob Wempen (182) and Waverly-Shell Rock's Andrew Snyder (285) won state championships.

In 2A, freshman Hayden Taylor of Solon won a title at 126. Mount Vernon's Paul Ryan capped off his senior year with a title at 170. Washington's Tristin Westphal won a tight 6-5 decision at 182 for the title.

One other state champion in Class 1A was Garet Sims of Iowa Valley at 220.