Tow bans in effect in northern Iowa due to blowing snow

By  | 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa (KCRG) - Law enforcement agencies have issued tow bans for many counties in Iowa, especially in northern Iowa.

Tow bans in effect in eastern Iowa, as of 4:15 p.m. (KCRG)

The following counties in the state have tow bans, as of 3:36 p.m.: Adair, Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Carroll, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Guthrie, Hardin, Howard, Marion, Marshall, Mitchell, Story, and Winneshiek

Road conditions that were already poor from the recent storm system are getting worse due to blowing snow. Gusty winds will persist through the evening, allowing for little improvement.

Rural areas will see the worst road conditions, as open terrain allows for easier blowing and drifting of snow already on the ground.

A tow ban means that if your vehicle slides into a ditch, you will not be able to get it towed out until the ban is lifted.