Naig wins secretary bid

By  | 

DES MOINES, Iowa (KCRG) - With the election results in, Iowa chose its Secretary of Agriculture position. Incumbent Republican Mike Naig won with 50.5 percent of the vote.

With more than 1,280,000 thousand votes cast, only 40,000 Iowan voters chose not to vote for the Secretary position.

Democrat Tim Gannon came in second at 46.5 percent, about 50,000 votes short, and Libertarian Rick Stewart took about 3 percent of the vote.

Naig was appointed by Governor Kim Reynolds this year, he also won a primary contested by four other candidates.

Naig served as Deputy-Secretary of Agriculture and has been with the Iowa Department of Agriculture for five years. Before that, he served in agribusinesses in public policy roles for state and national trade associations and in private industry. He also helps his dad and uncle on their crop and livestock farm.