Iowa Supreme Court elects Susan Christensen chief justice

Justice Susan Christensen (Iowa Judicial Branch)
Justice Susan Christensen (Iowa Judicial Branch)(KCRG)
Published: Feb. 24, 2020 at 12:34 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The Iowa Supreme Court has elected Justice Susan Christensen as its next chief justice. She becomes only the second woman in state history to rise to chief of the seven-member court.

Appointed by Gov. Kim Reynolds in 2018, Christensen is part of a new more conservatively constituted court.

Reynolds has named three justices to the court since becoming governor and will name a fourth after acting Chief Justice David Wiggins retires next month. Wiggins became acting chief after the unexpected death of Chief Justice Mark Cady in November from a heart attack.