FEMA denies individual disaster assistance for Marshall and Polk Counties

By  | 

DES MOINES, Iowa (KCRG-TV9) -- Governor Kim Reynolds says she will appeal FEMA's denial of individual assistance for homeowners, renters and businesses affected by the July 19 tornadoes in Marshall and Polk counties.

According to Reynolds' office, FEMA determined the damage "was not of such severity or magnitude" to justify awarding individual assistance.

Earlier this week is was announced that President Donald Trump partially approved the request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration by making federal assistance available to public and non-profit entities in Lee, Marshall, Marion and Van Buren counties.

Governor Reynolds has 30 days to appeal and says the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management will work with local emergency management officials to determine if there is additional damage from the tornadoes.

In August, FEMA denied a request for individual assistance for four counties impacted by flooding and storms between June 6 and July 2. FEMA did approve assistance for public and non-profit entities for 30 counties impacted by storms during that same period.