Applicants must be legal US residents between the ages of 7 - 12.

Applicants must reside in the Eastern Iowa television viewing area as defined by the Nielsen Company which includes the following Iowa counties: Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Grundy, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Linn, Tama, Washington, and Winneshiek.

Only one entry per child. Previous winners are not eligible to enter or to win this contest.

Essays must contain more than 50 words and less than 500 words to be considered. Topic of the essay is "Who is your biggest hero and why?"

All entries must be submitted by the end of the Contest Period (i.e., 5 p.m. on July 31, 2019). All entries submitted by mail must be postmarked or delivered by 5 p.m. on July 31, 2019.