Spencer Lee receives the Hodge trophy as NCAA’s best wrestler

Published: Jan. 5, 2021 at 7:32 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

IOWA CITY, Iowa (KCRG) - If you aren’t familiar with the Hodge trophy, think of the Heisman but for College Wrestling. Iowa senior Spencer Lee won the award back in March of 2020 but received the trophy in a ceremony in Iowa City on Tuesday afternoon.

“There’s no more sought after award in college wrestling than the Hodge trophy because, you know what, national tournament OW’s {Outstanding Wrestlers} have losses on their record. Hodge Trophy winners, with rare, rare exception do not,” said Iowa head coach Tom Brands.

Spencer Lee won the award after a dominating 2019-2010 season was cut short due to the pandemic. Lee was a perfect 18-0 and on pace to win his third national title. Lee is now next to Mark Ironside and Brent Metcalf as the only Hawkeyes to receive the award.

“I’m also the only one that’s ever won the Hodge that didn’t win a national title,” Lee said on Tuesday. “I mean I’m hoping to, you know, win it next year and when national title and earn it this time in my mind.”

“There is no controversy on who the Hodge Trophy winner was in 2020,” Brands said. “That shows the dominance. In other years there have been times where somebody feels they were left out.”

Copyright 2021 KCRG. All rights reserved.