Severe Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Winter Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Current Alerts

Current Alerts Click to learn more

X Close

Click Here for our Friday Night Lights live stream and game chat

Swipe left and right to view more scores

Scores refresh every five minutes. View more scores

Governor Honors Two Johnson County Women

  • Video
  • Photo
Video player is loading

Two Johnson County women were honored Friday at the Governor's Lifesaving Awards ceremony for their quick actions during separate incidents last December.

Shondra Eister of Tiffin and Sandra Morrow of Coralville both received Outstanding Service awards from Governor Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds during the annual ceremony.

Eister helped her father after he fell down a staircase at the family home. Dispatchers coached Eister on how to preform CPR while her father lay unconscious.

“He's getting a little bit better each day,” Eister said. “This is a real honor.”

Morrow was honored for helping a choking co-worker during a lunch break.

“I looked up and she pointed at her neck like she couldn't breathe,” said Morrow, who immediately performed the Heimlich maneuver. “It was scary, it took three tries.”

Four others were awarded for their heroic actions during incidents across Iowa at the ceremony. They are: Tara Dekkers of Ireton, Paula Lash of Runnells, Seth Thompson of Treynor and Wayne Judkins of Webster City.

l Comments: (319) 365-9999;

Featured Videos