Eastern Iowa Added to Presidential Disaster Request

By Rod Boshart, The Gazette

DES MOINES, Iowa – Gov. Terry Branstad on Tuesday asked President Obama to designate 22 counties in Iowa eligible for federal disaster relief services.

Branstad signed a letter to be delivered to Obama requesting a presidential disaster declaration for 22 Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from severe weather that produced damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, hail, and thunderstorms beginning June 26 through July 7.

The counties included in the request are: Audubon, Black Hawk, Butler, Cedar, Des Moines, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Mahaska, Muscatine, Poweshiek, Tama and Washington.

This request comes one week after President Obama granted a similar request for 26 counties as a result of damage from storms in mid to late June.

The governor requested funding under the public assistance program, which is used to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during, and debris removal after, the storms. A joint federal, state and local preliminary damage assessment of the 22 counties found the severe weather caused an estimated $13 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the program.

Branstad also requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

Presidential Disaster Declaration Request

facebook twitter email alerts you tube hooplanow