Zach Johnson Misses Masters Cut

AUGUSTA, Ga. — "Discombobulated" would describe Zach Johnson's 2014 Masters.

So would "short."

The Cedar Rapids native got a needle late Thursday afternoon. Early Friday evening, he got cut.

If there were any consolation on Johnson missing the 36-hole cut in the illustrious tournament at Augusta National, it's that he did so by two strokes rather than one. Had it been one, the margin of error would have been a one-shot penalty he got on the sixth hole when his ball moved on the green after he addressed it with his putter.

Johnson blew the whistle on himself as he faced a putt that was little more than a tap-in for a par.

"I'm just looking down at the ball marks," Johnson said. "I put my putter down and the next thing I know I hit my ball."

The PGA's explanation:

"Under the rules, when a ball moves after address, it must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke, or the backward movement of the club for the stroke, and the stroke is made. In this situation, since the movement of the ball took place after Johnson had begun the stroke, he was not required to replace the ball, but was not exempt from the one-stroke penalty provided for under the rule."

That put Johnson at 7-over par in the tournament. He needed to get to 4-over, as it turned out, to make the cut and play through the weekend. He only got to 6-over with his second-round 72 on the heels of his first-round 78.
facebook twitter email alerts you tube hooplanow

 close  don't show again