Xavier, Regina Open at No. 1 in Gazette Poll

By Jeff Linder, Reporter

Iowa City Regina players celebrate the Regals' third football state championship in a row after their 35-14 win against Council Bluffs St. Albert in the 1A championship at the UNI-Dome on Friday, Nov. 16, 2012, in Cedar Falls. (Liz Martin/The Gazette-KCRG)


By Sam Louwagie

Three consecutive state championships. A win streak of 42 straight games. And a lot coming back.

Yeah, you could say Iowa City Regina was an easy choice for No. 1. Unanimous, even.

The Regals join Cedar Rapids Xavier and BGM as top-ranked area teams in The Gazette’s inaugural preseason football poll, released today.

It’s a new undertaking for The Gazette staff, but one deemed necessary after the newspaper cut ties with the Associated Press.

Voting in the poll are prep writers Jeff Johnson, K.J. Pilcher, Jeremiah Davis and Jeff Linder.

The four largest classes are led by parochial schools.

The 4A state runner-up last year (it dropped a 23-17 decision to Ankeny in the title game), Xavier received three No. 1 votes to lead the 4A list.

Xavier was 13-1 last season and returns the majority of a defense that allowed just 8.6 points per game. Matt Nelson, a University of Iowa commitment, is a returning first-team all-state defensive end.

West Des Moines Dowling is No. 2, followed by Iowa City West.

Sioux City Heelan is the top-ranked team in 3A. The Crusaders were 12-2 and state runners-up last year. Grinnell is second, with defending champion Decorah at No. 3.

Carroll Kuemper got the nod in 2A after a 12-1, state-semifinalist season in 2012. Waukon (9-3) returns four all-staters and is rated second; Dyersville Beckman (11-2) is No. 3 behind a prolific passing attack.

Regina has not tasted defeat yet this decade, and is chasing the state’s all-time record of 56 games without a loss. The Regals outscored their opposition by an average of 41-10 last year, and bring back running back Riley Dixon, among many other veterans. Dike-New Hartford (12-1) and Council Bluffs St. Albert (12-2) fell to the Regals in the final two rounds of the playoffs and start this season at Nos. 2 and 3.

The tightest race for No. 1 is in Class A, where BGM edged West Lyon by a 34-33 margin. BGM (10-3) advanced to the state semifinals last year, while West Lyon (9-2) was bumped in the second round. Defending champion Wapsie Valley (14-0) and Lisbon (9-2) share the No. 3 ranking.

Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton assumes the top spot in Eight Man after posting a 12-1 mark and advancing to the semifinals last year. Last year’s runner-up, Don Bosco (12-1) is No. 2.

The first regular-season poll will be released Monday, Sept. 2.


Preseason 2013
(First-place votes in parentheses)

Class 4A
1. Cedar Rapids Xavier (3)
2. West Des Moines Dowling
3. Iowa City West
4. Urbandale
5. West Des Moines Valley
6. Southeast Polk
7. Ankeny (1)
8. Pleasant Valley
9. Cedar Falls
10. Waukee

Others receiving votes: Dubuque Senior 6, Ames 4, Sioux City East 4, Cedar Rapids Prairie 2, Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln 1.

Class 3A
1. Sioux City Heelan (3)
2. Grinnell
3. Decorah (1)
4. Spencer
5. Williamsburg
6. Harlan
7. Clear Lake
8. Pella
9. Webster City
10. Washington

Others receiving votes: Boone 6, DeWitt Central 6, Marion 6, Lewis Central 5, Crestwood 4, Carroll 2, Perry 1, West Delaware 1.

Class 2A
1. Carroll Kuemper (2)
2. Waukon (1)
3. Dyersville Beckman
4. West Marshall
5. Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley
6. Spirit Lake (1)
7. Union
8. Albia
(tie) Mediapolis
10. Bondurant-Farrar

Others receiving votes: New Hampton 5, Forest City 4, Louisa-Muscatine 4, North Polk 4, Garner-Hayfield/Ventura 3, Mid-Prairie 2.

Class 1A
1. Iowa City Regina (4)
2. Dike-New Hartford
3. Council Bluffs St. Albert
4. Emmetsburg
5. South Winneshiek
6. Aplington-Parkersburg
(tie) Mount Ayr
9. Wilton
9. Sigourney-Keota
10. Maquoketa Valley

Others receiving votes: IKM-Manning 5, South O’Brien 4, West Branch 3, Van Meter 2, Western Christian 1.

Class A
1. BGM (2)
2. West Lyon (1)
3. Lisbon
(tie) Wapsie Valley (1)
5. Lynnville-Sully
6. Woodward-Granger
7. Hinton
8. Logan-Magnolia
9. Mason City Newman
10. Lawton-Bronson
(tie) North Tama

Others receiving votes: Ackley AGWSR 5, Akron-Westfield 4, Algona Garrigan 4, Gladbrook-Reinbeck 3, Madrid 3, Montezuma 2, Pekin 1.

Eight Man
1. Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton (2)
2. Don Bosco (1)
3. Murray
(tie) Newell-Fonda
5. Glidden-Ralston
6. Adair-Casey
7. Marcus MMC (1)
8. HLV
9. West Bend-Mallard
10. Easton Valley
(tie) Springville

Others receiving votes: Sidney 5, Harris-Lake Park 3, Remsen Union 3, Laurens-Marathon 1, West Harrison 1.

Conversation Guidelines

Be Kind

Don't use abusive, offensive, threatening, racist, vulgar or sexually-oriented language.
Don't attack someone personally. Keep it civil and be responsible.

Share Knowledge

Be truthful. Share what you know and what you are passionate about.
What more do you want to learn? Keep it simple.

Stay focused

Promote lively and healthy debate. Stay on topic. Ask questions and give feedback on the story's topic.

Report Trouble

Help us maintain a quality comment section by reporting comments that are offensive. If you see a comment that is offensive, or you feel violates our guidelines, simply click on the "x" to the far right of the comment to report it.

read the full guidelines here »

Commenting will be disabled on stories dealing with the following subject matter: Crime, sexual abuse, property fires, automobile accidents, Amber Alerts, Operation Quickfinds and suicides.

facebook twitter rss mobile google plus
email alerts you tube hooplanow pinterest instagram

What's On KCRG