Severe Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Winter Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Current Alerts

Current Alerts Click to learn more

X Close

Live Scoreboard

Total Yards:
Passing Yards:
Rushing Yards:

Total Yards:
Passing Yards:
Rushing Yards:

Game Highlights

Scoreboard refreshes every five minutes
Click Here for our Friday Night Lights live stream and game chat

Swipe left and right to view more scores

Scores refresh every five minutes. View more scores

Prep Cross Country: Jenks Paces Linn-Mar To MVC Title

  • Video
Video player is loading
CEDAR FALLS, Iowa It's almost as if Stephanie Jenks runs on autopilot.

"I just let my body do what it wants to do," she said.

What her body wants to do is run fast. Faster than anybody else.

Jenks got out fast, won the individual title with relative ease and helped Linn-Mar claim the girls' championship at the Mississippi Valley Conference cross country meet Thursday afternoon at Birdsall Park.

The Lions scored 65 points to prevail in a tight four-team race. Iowa City High was second with 75 points, followed by previously unbeaten Cedar Rapids Kennedy (77) and Iowa City West (79).

"We were trying to show improvement, because Kennedy had beaten us here a month ago," said Linn-Mar Coach Todd Goodell. "The girls showed that they're coming along with their training, and Amber Decker is figuring out what it's all about. She raced like a beast."

If you know cross country, you know about Jenks, the Lions' vastly talented freshman who won Thursday in 14:10. She won by 10 seconds over runner-up Allison Gregg of Cedar Falls.

Another ninth-grader, Decker was fourth.

"I'm really, really excited for our team," Jenks said.

West edged City High, 84-86, for the boys' title. Dubuque Senior was third with 100. Linn-Mar, which was without Josh Evans and Daniel Murphy with minor leg injuries, was fifth.

City High's Brook Price pulled away in the final half-mile to take the individual boys' crown in 15:37. Dylan Eigenberger of Dubuque Senior was second, 7 seconds back.

"That last half-mile, I knew I had to get moving if I wanted to win a conference championship," Price said. "I wanted to break the wills of the guys that were running with me.

"I heard my teammates and coaches yelling for me, but I didn't hear any runners any more."

West's depth prevailed. The Trojans had five runners in the top 25. Nobody else had four. Isaac Jensen led West with a fourth-place finish.

Mitch Pritts of Prairie was the top Metro boy. He was third.


At Cedar Falls


Teams 1. Linn-Mar 65, 2. Iowa City High 75, 3. C.R. Kennedy 77, 4. Iowa City West 79, 5. Cedar Falls 107, 6. Dubuque Senior 139, 7. C.R. Jefferson 256, 8. Dubuque Wahlert 258, 9. C.R. Xavier 258, 10. Waterloo West 260, 11. Dubuque Hempstead 289, 12. C.R. Washington 301, 13. C.R. Prairie 333, 14. Waterloo East 467.

Individuals 1. Stephanie Jenks (LM), 14:10; 2. Allison Gregg (CF), 14:20; 3. Ashlynn Yokom (ICW), 14:21; 4. Amber Decker (LM), 14:53; 5. Aslyssa Averhoff (CRK), 14:55; 6. Shannon Gorman (CRW), 15:01; 7. Brianna King (CF), 15:02; 8. Allison Culver (CRK), 15:08; 9. Katie Wampole (CRK), 15:15; 10. Molly Leveille (ICW), 15:17; 11. Elly Tebon (DS), 15:25; 12. Rachel Perry (LM), 15:27; 13. Ellen Carman (ICH), 15:28; 14. Lindsey Bruns (ICH), 15:29; 15. Mollie Shepherd (ICH), 15:34.


Teams 1. Iowa City West 84, 2. Iowa City High 86, 3. Dubuque Senior 100, 4. Cedar Falls 111, 5. Linn-Mar 115, 6. C.R. Washington 145, 7. Waterloo West 158, 8. C.R. Prairie 203, 9. Dubuque Hempstead 213, 10. Dubuque Wahlert 267, 11. C.R. Kennedy 275, 12. C.R. Xavier 309, 13. C.R. Jefferson 363, 14. Waterloo East 465.

Individuals 1. Brook Price (ICH), 15:37; 2. Dylan Eigenberger (DS), 15:44; 3. Mitch Pritts (CRP), 15:47; 4. Isaac Jensen (ICW), 15:58; 5. Jaime Zarate (CF), 16:05; 6. Tanner Rathje (LM), 16:06; 7. Jon Specht (DH), 16:07; 8. Ryan Dorman (ICH), 16:07; 9. Blake Whalen (DS), 16:07; 10. Joe Berry (CRW), 16:10; 11. Etienne Nzoyisaba (CRW), 16:10; 12. Alex Hottle (WW), 16:13; 13. Chase Grabau (LM), 16:13; 14. Bailey Wetherell (ICW), 16:18; 15. Mark Fairley (DS), 16:19.

Featured Videos