Marble Earns Basketball Writers Association Honor

By Scott Dochterman, Reporter

Iowa senior Devyn Marble was named to the 10-player All-District VI team by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) on Tuesday.

The All-District VI team includes players from Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oklahoma, Kansas and Missouri. The all-district team includes Iowa State's Melvin Ejim and DeAndre Kane, Wichita State's Cleanthony Early and Fred VanVleet, Kansas' Andrew Wiggins and Joel Embiid, Doug McDermott of Creighton, Terran Petteway of Nebraska and Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State).

Marble, a 6-foot-6 guard from Southfield, Mich., became the first Iowa player since Adam Haluska in 2007 to earn all-district honors. Marble averaged 17 points, 3.4 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.8 steals per game in the regular season. Among Big Ten players, Marble ranks fifth in the league in steals, sixth in scoring and 10th in assists. In Big Ten games only, he ranked second in scoring (18.3).

Marble is one of two Big Ten players since 1985-86 with more than 1,650 points, 375 assists, 450 rebounds and 170 steals. He ranks sixth in Iowa career scoring with 1,662 points and seventh in steals (173). He has scored 21 points or more 11 times as a senior, including five of the last eight games.

Read more:
facebook twitter email alerts you tube hooplanow