Severe Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Winter Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Current Alerts

Current Alerts Click to learn more

X Close

Ejim, Kane Honored By Associated Press

Meet The Team

    • Video
    Video player is loading
    April 28, 2014 | 3:22 pm
    AMES, Iowa Iowa State senior Melvin Ejim has been named a Second-Team Associated Press All-American, it was announced Monday. ISU's DeAndre Kane was an honorable mention honoree.

    Ejim led the Cyclones averaging 17.8 points and was named Big 12 Player of the Year. The forward also averaged 8.4 rebounds per game. Ejim is the only player in a BCS conference averaging at least 17 points and eight rebounds, while shooting 50 percent from the field and 34 percent from behind the arc.

    Ejim is the fifth Cyclone to earn a spot on the AP's first, second or third teams, joining Jamaal Tinsley (2001), Marcus Fizer (2000), Jeff Grayer (1988) and Gary Thompson (1957).

    Ejim has now been named an All-American by four different outlets.

    Kane averaged 17.1 points, 6.8 rebounds and 5.9 assists. He was named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and has been honored as an All-American by five outlets.

    Doug McDermott, Creighton
    Jabari Parker, Duke
    Russ Smith, Louisville
    Shabazz Napier, UCONN
    Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati

    Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
    Nick Johnson, Arizona
    Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
    T.J. Warren, N.C. State
    Nik Stauskas, Michigan

    Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
    Kyle Anderson, UCLA
    Julius Randle, Kentucky
    C.J. Fair, Syracuse
    Scottie Wilbekin, Florida

    Featured Videos