Kernels To Recognize Hawkeye Wrestlers Thursday

By K.J. Pilcher, Reporter

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - Members of the University of Iowa wrestling team, Hawkeye coaching staff and Hawkeye Wrestling Club will be recognized in a pre-game ceremony when the Cedar Rapids Kernels host the Clinton LumberKings on Thursday at Memorial Stadium, beginning at 6 p.m. First pitch is at 6:35.

Among those expected to attend are current coaches Tom and Terry Brands and Ryan Morningstar, two-time NCAA champion and three-time national finalist Matt McDonough, a three-time state champion for Linn-Mar, and All-American Mike Evans from this year's squad. Former Hawkeyes and HWC members Jesse Whitmer, Joe Williams, Jeff McGinness, Brent Metcalf, Dan Erekson, Luke Eustice, Phil Keddy, Luke Lofthouse, Rick Novak, Brad Smith and Jesse Whitmer.

The Hawkeye program and HWC will be highlighted throughout the night. Fans will get to see promos on the video board and could receive one of the many wrestling t-shirts given away to those in attendance.

Gates open at 5:30 with the first 500 fans through receiving a free Iowa Wrestling t-shirt from Ironside Apparel and Iowa 24-7-365, owned by former Iowa two-time NCAA champion and four-time All-American and Cedar Rapids Jefferson two- state champion Mark Ironside.
facebook twitter email alerts you tube hooplanow