Severe Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Winter Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Current Alerts

Current Alerts Click to learn more

X Close

Live Scoreboard

Total Yards:
Passing Yards:
Rushing Yards:

Total Yards:
Passing Yards:
Rushing Yards:

Game Highlights

Scoreboard refreshes every five minutes
Click Here for our Friday Night Lights live stream and game chat

Swipe left and right to view more scores

Scores refresh every five minutes. View more scores

Koepke Captures City Am Title by 9 Strokes

  • Video
Video player is loading
CEDAR RAPIDS Steve Koepke left no doubt Sunday.

The Cedar Rapids Jefferson boys' golf coach completed an impressive three days of golf, shooting a 4-under-par 68 at Ellis Park Golf Course to win the Cedar Rapids men's city amateur by nine shots over Scot Glasford and Kurt Hockaday.

Koepke finished at 15-under, 201, earning one of eight guaranteed spots on the 2011 Cedar Rapids Ryder Cup team, which will play against a team from Iowa City in September.

Using the phrase, "playing in the moment", Koepke, 38, used the same words he preaches each year to his J-Hawk golfers.

"This has been the greatest tournament I have ever played because I did not allow myself the immaturity of thinking ahead, or being mad that I dropped a shot for par here or there," he said. "I'm very happy and satisfied with myself that every time I felt I was leaving the moment, I brought it back in."

Koepke said he and Glasford, who was three shots back entering Sunday's play, started even through the first few holes at Ellis. He knew that he had to stay focused in order to maintain his lead.

"Scot and I were kind of clear from a lot of other players," Koepke said. "So for a while, my mindset was that it was a match play between us."

Koepke eventually pulled away as Glasford shot a 74. Hockaday, who opened the day five shots behind Glasford, shot a 69 to grab a tie for second. It was Koepke's second city Am title, having also won in 2009. He also has a pair of runner-up finishes. Defending champion Chris James finished fifth. He shot a 73 Sunday to finish at 214.

Jeff Wenthe, Justin Pansegrau, Matt Sargent will be joining Koepke, Glasford, Hockaday and James on the Cedar Rapids team. There was a tie for eighth between Brad Fox and Vern Boenish. An undetermined tiebreaker will determine the final automatic qualifier. This year's event will be held Aug. 27-28 at Brown Deer Golf Club in Coralville.

The 12-man team will be filled out with four captains pick. Co-captains Mike Thomsen and Terry Knake will determine the final four spots. Cedar Rapids has won the last five years.

"We've had the edge on Iowa City in recent years. But you know they're going to be gunning for us," Koepke said.

Featured Videos