Cross Country: Mount Mercy Men Win MCC Title

Courtesy: Mount Mercy Athletics

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Led by Harrier of the Year TJ Mosbach, Mount Mercy edged defending champion St. Ambrose for its fourth conference title at the 2013 Midwest Collegiate Conference Cross Country Championships on Saturday at Jones Park.
The Mustangs had three runners in the top 10 to win the MCC crown with 43 points. The Fighting Bees were right behind them with 45 points, followed by Grand View (79), Viterbo (Wis.) (82), William Penn (116) and Clarke (139). Mount Mercy also won men's titles in 2003, 2010 and 2011.
TJ Mosbach, a senior, is the third Mustang to be named MCC Harrier of the Year. Judd Allbaugh won the conference title in 1996 and Patrick Keehner was Harrier of the Year in 2002 and 2003. Mosbach crossed the finish line in 27:39, just nine seconds in front of teammate Tyler Hartley. The junior ran the 8K in 27:48. Sophomore Evan Bowman placed seventh in 28:31. All three earned all-conference honors.
Other Mount Mercy runners included freshman Tyler Steele (16th/29:39), senior Mitch Johnson (17th/29:46), sophomore Erik Ryan (31st/31:09) and freshmen Devin Stone (35th/31:21) and Eric Hansen (37:27).
Mount Mercy's Ryan Scheckel was named the MCC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year. It's his fourth men's coach of the year award and ninth overall in cross country. Scheckel has guided the men to league titles in 2003, 2010, 2011 and 2013, and women's championships in 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009.
For the third time in school history, the Mustangs earned the league's automatic berth in the 58th Annual NAIA Cross Country National Championships on Saturday, Nov. 23, at Rim Rock Farm in Lawrence, Kan. Mount Mercy also qualified in 2010 and 2011.
facebook twitter email alerts you tube hooplanow

 close  don't show again