President Bush Declares Butler County a Disaster Area


By Josh Hinkle

DES MOINES (AP) - President Bush has declared that a major disaster exists in Iowa, making federal money available to residents of Butler County.

The president's action came Tuesday, two days after the Butler County cities of Parkersburg and New Hartford were severely damaged by tornadoes. The severe weather left six people dead and at least 70 injured.

The federal action makes available grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans for uninsured property losses and other assistance intended to help people and businesses recover.

Most Popular


Click Here for More Video

Past Coverage

Pulpit rock

Click Here for Past News Coverage

Photo Gallery

Click Here for Photo Gallery

The Victims

Click Here for The Victims



Click Here for Interactive Timeline

Interactive Map

Interactive Map

Click Here for Interactive Map