Nine Named to Iowa's New Public Information Board


By Lauren Peikoff

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Nine people have been named to Iowa's new Public Information Board.

The board will oversee enforcement of Iowa's open meetings and records laws, investigate alleged violations and take claims to court if necessary.

Gov. Terry Branstand's office says the nine he's selected are Robert Andeweg, of Urbandale; Tony Gaugan, of West Des Moines; Jo Martin, of Spirit Lake; Andy McKean, of Anamosa; Gary Mohr, of Bettendorf; Bill Monroe, of Johnston; Kathleen Richardson, of Des Moines; Suzan Stewart, of Sioux City; and Peggy Weitl, of Carroll.

The board member's terms begin Sunday.

Conversation Guidelines

Be Kind

Don't use abusive, offensive, threatening, racist, vulgar or sexually-oriented language.
Don't attack someone personally. Keep it civil and be responsible.

Share Knowledge

Be truthful. Share what you know and what you are passionate about.
What more do you want to learn? Keep it simple.

Stay focused

Promote lively and healthy debate. Stay on topic. Ask questions and give feedback on the story's topic.

Report Trouble

Help us maintain a quality comment section by reporting comments that are offensive. If you see a comment that is offensive, or you feel violates our guidelines, simply click on the "x" to the far right of the comment to report it.

read the full guidelines here »

Commenting will be disabled on stories dealing with the following subject matter: Crime, sexual abuse, property fires, automobile accidents, Amber Alerts, Operation Quickfinds and suicides.

facebook twitter rss mobile google plus
email alerts you tube hooplanow pinterest instagram

What's On KCRG