McCarthy to Continue Leading Iowa House Democrats

Iowa House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy holds a press conference at the Iowa Statehouse Wednesday afternoon Feb. 29. 2012 as the Democratic caucus returns to the Iowa Statehouse in Des Moines, Iowa. (AP Photo/The Des Moines Register, Rodney White)


By Liz Blood

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Iowa House Democrats have re-elected Rep. Kevin McCarthy, of Des Moines, as the House Democratic leader.

McCarthy was re-elected to the leadership slot Saturday in a meeting at the State Capitol in Des Moines.

McCarthy says House Democrats are "ready to get to work, grow our economy, and rebuild the middle class from the bottom up."

Democrats also elected four assistant leaders. They are Rep. Ako Abdul-Samad, of Des Moines; Rep. Mary Gaskill, of Ottumwa; Rep. Mary Mascher, of Iowa City; and Rep. Mark Smith, of Marshalltown.

House Democrats will gather again in December to plan for the 2013 legislative session, which begins on Jan. 14.

Conversation Guidelines

Be Kind

Don't use abusive, offensive, threatening, racist, vulgar or sexually-oriented language.
Don't attack someone personally. Keep it civil and be responsible.

Share Knowledge

Be truthful. Share what you know and what you are passionate about.
What more do you want to learn? Keep it simple.

Stay focused

Promote lively and healthy debate. Stay on topic. Ask questions and give feedback on the story's topic.

Report Trouble

Help us maintain a quality comment section by reporting comments that are offensive. If you see a comment that is offensive, or you feel violates our guidelines, simply click on the "x" to the far right of the comment to report it.

read the full guidelines here »

Commenting will be disabled on stories dealing with the following subject matter: Crime, sexual abuse, property fires, automobile accidents, Amber Alerts, Operation Quickfinds and suicides.

facebook twitter rss mobile google plus
email alerts you tube hooplanow pinterest instagram

What's On KCRG