McCarthy to Continue Leading Iowa House Democrats

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Iowa House Democrats have re-elected Rep. Kevin McCarthy, of Des Moines, as the House Democratic leader.

McCarthy was re-elected to the leadership slot Saturday in a meeting at the State Capitol in Des Moines.

McCarthy says House Democrats are "ready to get to work, grow our economy, and rebuild the middle class from the bottom up."

Democrats also elected four assistant leaders. They are Rep. Ako Abdul-Samad, of Des Moines; Rep. Mary Gaskill, of Ottumwa; Rep. Mary Mascher, of Iowa City; and Rep. Mark Smith, of Marshalltown.

House Democrats will gather again in December to plan for the 2013 legislative session, which begins on Jan. 14.
facebook twitter email alerts you tube hooplanow