Severe Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Winter Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Current Alerts

Current Alerts Click to learn more

X Close

Click Here for our Friday Night Lights live stream and game chat

Swipe left and right to view more scores

Scores refresh every five minutes. View more scores

Gov. Branstad Seeking Federal Disaster Status for 47 Counties

  • Photo
DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) Gov. Terry Branstad says storms that brought flooding to Iowa since May 19 caused an estimated $22 million in damage that is eligible for federal public assistance. As a result he has signed a letter to President Barack Obama requesting a presidential disaster declaration that would include 47 of Iowa's counties.

The storms brought damaging wind, tornadoes, heavy rain and thunderstorms causing flash flooding.

The governor is making the request for federal Public Assistance Program funding for the counties of Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O'Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago and Wright.

Public Assistance funds may be used to rebuild damaged roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover emergency work costs.

Branstad also has activated the individual assistance program for Lee and Webster counties. Residents may apply for $5,000 grants for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing.

Featured Videos