Seven Iowa Counties Join Regional MHDD Effort

By Steve Gravelle, Reporter

LINN COUNTY, Iowa - Four counties are joining Linn and its neighbors in planning a regional network to deliver services for mental health and the developmentally disabled (MHDD).

Iowa, Johnson, Delaware, and Dubuque counties will join the effort already underway by Linn, Jones, and Benton counties, Linn County Supervisor Linda Langston said. Supervisors from the initial three counties voted today to allow the others to participate, said Langston, D-Cedar Rapids.

The state Department of Human Services encourages formation of regional agencies under MHDD reform legislation passed by the Legislature last session. The goal is to share case-management and support costs while providing a uniform level of services across the state.

Langston said the seven-county group comprises 516,594 populatio, about 17 percent of the state's total. MHDD officials from each county will meet next week, and supervisors will join them in mid-November.

Planning would address what services would be delivered where, who would provide case-management services, and computer compatibility.
facebook twitter email alerts you tube hooplanow