Severe Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Winter Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Current Alerts

Current Alerts Click to learn more

X Close

Click Here for our Friday Night Lights live stream and game chat

Swipe left and right to view more scores

Scores refresh every five minutes. View more scores

Eastern Iowa Museums and Libraries Receive National Medal

  • Video
Video player is loading
CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - A big honor is going to a Cedar Rapids landmark for its resilience after the worst decade in state history, the 2008 flood.

Two of the ten recipients of this year's National Medal for Museum and Library Service are the National Czech and Slovak Museum and Library in Cedar Rapids and the Marshalltown Public Library.

The medal is the nation's highest honor for museums and library services.

Gail Naughton, the President and CEO of the National Czech and Slovak Museum said, "The national medal is awarded every year, and there have been only a handful of museums in the U.S. who have received this medal. There are tens and thousands of museums, so it's just an honor to be chosen and singled out for this award."

First Lady Michelle Obama will personally present the medals on May 8 in Washington, D.C.

Featured Videos