Democrats Retain Seat in Northern Iowa House Vote

Voters wait in line for the doors to Precinct 39 to open before casting their ballots on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2012, at the First Church of the Open Bible in Des Moines, Iowa. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)


By Katie Stinson

MASON CITY, Iowa (AP) — Democrats have retained the Iowa House District 52 seat in a special election.

Assistant Floyd County Attorney Todd Prichard beat Republican Dennis Litterer and independent Craig Clark in Tuesday's election. The unofficial totals were 54.6 percent for Prichard, 43.7 percent for Litterer and 1.5 percent for Clark.

The district is composed of all of Floyd and Chickasaw counties and part of western Cerro Gordo County.

Prichard replaces Brian Quirk, of New Hampton. The incumbent Democrat won re-election in November but resigned in December because of a new job.

With Prichard's election, the party balance in the House remains 53 Republicans and 47 Democrats.

Conversation Guidelines

Be Kind

Don't use abusive, offensive, threatening, racist, vulgar or sexually-oriented language.
Don't attack someone personally. Keep it civil and be responsible.

Share Knowledge

Be truthful. Share what you know and what you are passionate about.
What more do you want to learn? Keep it simple.

Stay focused

Promote lively and healthy debate. Stay on topic. Ask questions and give feedback on the story's topic.

Report Trouble

Help us maintain a quality comment section by reporting comments that are offensive. If you see a comment that is offensive, or you feel violates our guidelines, simply click on the "x" to the far right of the comment to report it.

read the full guidelines here »

Commenting will be disabled on stories dealing with the following subject matter: Crime, sexual abuse, property fires, automobile accidents, Amber Alerts, Operation Quickfinds and suicides.

facebook twitter rss mobile google plus
email alerts you tube hooplanow pinterest instagram

What's On KCRG