Severe Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Winter Weather Alert Follow Us On Twitter #KCRGWX

Current Alerts

Current Alerts Click to learn more

X Close

Live Scoreboard

Total Yards:
Passing Yards:
Rushing Yards:

Total Yards:
Passing Yards:
Rushing Yards:

Game Highlights

Scoreboard refreshes every five minutes
Click Here for our Friday Night Lights live stream and game chat

Swipe left and right to view more scores

Scores refresh every five minutes. View more scores

Area Officials Join State Commission on Teacher Pay

  • Photo
CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - Three representatives from area school districts have been selected to join a state commission that will help implement a key portion of the education reform law adopted by the Legislature this year.

Iowa City school board member Patti Fields, Cedar Rapids teacher Ray Feuss and Vinton-Shellsburg Superintendent Mary Jo Hainstock are among 20 people Iowa Department of Education Interim Director D.T. Magee named to the Commission on Educator Leadership and Compensation.

The centerpiece of the law is a new career-path system for teachers that changes the way they will be promoted, paid and evaluated.

School districts that want state funding for a local system will submit plans to the commission, which will evaluate them and make recommendations on approval to the state education department, according to a news release.

The law sets up a four-year process for developing a statewide Teacher Leadership and Compensation System, according to the release. The commission's first meeting is Aug. 14.

Featured Videos