Officers to be Honored at Memorial

Iowa Governor Terry Branstad addresses the Linn Eagles at the Cedar Rapids Country Club on Friday, Jan. 13, 2011, in Cedar Rapids. (Liz Martin/SourceMedia Group News)


By Rachel Begle

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Three of the 169 Iowa police officers who have died from injuries received in the line of duty will be honored at a Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony.

The 10 a.m. Friday ceremony at the Oran Pape State Office Building will honor Stuart Police Chief Robert Smith, Motor Vehicle Enforcement officer Philip J. Adams and Floyd County deputy Levi Bowers.

The Department of Public Safety says Smith was injured in 2009 while arresting a suspect. During surgery, complications arose and he was paralyzed. He died Aug. 13, 2010.

Adams was hit while flagging down a truck March 31, 1973. He died of his injuries.

Bowers died of gunshot wounds after exchanging gunfire on Feb. 24, 1916, with a suspect.

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds will attend the ceremony.

Conversation Guidelines

Be Kind

Don't use abusive, offensive, threatening, racist, vulgar or sexually-oriented language.
Don't attack someone personally. Keep it civil and be responsible.

Share Knowledge

Be truthful. Share what you know and what you are passionate about.
What more do you want to learn? Keep it simple.

Stay focused

Promote lively and healthy debate. Stay on topic. Ask questions and give feedback on the story's topic.

Report Trouble

Help us maintain a quality comment section by reporting comments that are offensive. If you see a comment that is offensive, or you feel violates our guidelines, simply click on the "x" to the far right of the comment to report it.

read the full guidelines here »

Commenting will be disabled on stories dealing with the following subject matter: Crime, sexual abuse, property fires, automobile accidents, Amber Alerts, Operation Quickfinds and suicides.

facebook twitter rss mobile google plus
email alerts you tube hooplanow pinterest instagram

What's On KCRG