House GOP Leadership Remains Almost the Same


By Ellen Kurt

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — The Republican leadership of the Iowa House will remain virtually unchanged for the upcoming legislative session.

House Republicans on Wednesday selected Rep. Kraig Paulsen, of Hiawatha, to continue as speaker of the House. Rep. Linda Upmeyer, of Clear Lake, will continue as majority leader. Also continuing in a leadership role is Rep. Steve Olson, of DeWitt, as speaker pro tem.

Rep. Chris Hagenow, of Windsor Heights, is the new majority whip. He replaces Rep. Erik Helland, of Johnston, who lost in the GOP primary earlier this year.

Republicans have held a 60-40 majority in the House for the past two years. The GOP lost seven seats in last week's election. The margin is now 54 Republicans and 47 Democrats.

The Legislature convenes on Jan. 14.

Conversation Guidelines

Be Kind

Don't use abusive, offensive, threatening, racist, vulgar or sexually-oriented language.
Don't attack someone personally. Keep it civil and be responsible.

Share Knowledge

Be truthful. Share what you know and what you are passionate about.
What more do you want to learn? Keep it simple.

Stay focused

Promote lively and healthy debate. Stay on topic. Ask questions and give feedback on the story's topic.

Report Trouble

Help us maintain a quality comment section by reporting comments that are offensive. If you see a comment that is offensive, or you feel violates our guidelines, simply click on the "x" to the far right of the comment to report it.

read the full guidelines here »

Commenting will be disabled on stories dealing with the following subject matter: Crime, sexual abuse, property fires, automobile accidents, Amber Alerts, Operation Quickfinds and suicides.

facebook twitter rss mobile google plus
email alerts you tube hooplanow pinterest instagram

What's On KCRG