Farmers in Southeast Iowa Counties Can Seek Disaster Help

A farm in along Interstate 80 in Poweshiek County experienced heavy flooding from the North Skunk River Sunday, May 27, 2013.


By Ellen Kurt

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) —The U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency says the USDA has included six southeast Iowa counties as part of a presidential major disaster designation that could help farmers who suffered damage in recent severe storms.

The presidential designation made 14 Illinois counties the primary disaster area, but the Iowa counties are also eligible because they are contiguous to the disaster area.

The Iowa counties are Clinton, Des Moines, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine and Scott.

Eligible farmers with production or physical losses caused by storms or flooding from April 16 through May 5 may be eligible for low-interest emergency loans. The loans are intended to help farmers return to normal operations.

Farmers who want more information should contact their local county Farm Service Agency.

Most Popular

River Levels

Click Here for River Levels

Flood Updates

Click Here for Flood Updates

Road Closures


Click Here for Road Closures

Photo Gallery

Click Here for Photo Gallery